ApprovalMax Alternatives for Australian Businesses in 2026

Five ApprovalMax alternatives for Australian businesses on Xero and MYOB, compared on capture, line coding, approvals, PO matching and price.

Joey Hotz · 8 June 2026 · 10 min read · Updated 8 September 2026

TL;DR

ApprovalMax routes approvals on Xero, QuickBooks Online and NetSuite. It now sells OCR capture, duplicate warnings and bank detail alerts as well. It still doesn't connect to MYOB, doesn't learn line coding from your history and charges per organisation plus a per-document Capture add-on. This guide compares five ApprovalMax alternatives for Australian businesses: Pulsify, Lightyear, Zahara, Tipalti and the approvals built into Xero and MYOB.

The right ApprovalMax alternative depends on whether approval routing is the whole job or the last step of it. ApprovalMax routes approvals well. It runs multi-step workflows on top of Xero, QuickBooks Online and NetSuite, sells an OCR add-on called ApprovalMax Capture and warns approvers about duplicate bills and changed bank details. What it still doesn’t do is connect to MYOB, learn line coding from your past invoices or come as one bill. Every plan is priced per organisation and Capture is charged on top, per document.

This guide compares five ApprovalMax alternatives for Australian businesses: Pulsify, Lightyear, Zahara, Tipalti and the approval queues built into Xero and MYOB. Each is judged on the same five things: how invoices get in, how lines get coded, how approvals route, whether purchase orders are matched and what it costs at about 100 invoices a month. Prices are as of September 2026 and link to each vendor’s own page.

Why Australian businesses look for ApprovalMax alternatives

Three reasons come up in nearly every conversation: MYOB, line coding and the bill.

MYOB comes first. ApprovalMax connects to Xero, QuickBooks Online and NetSuite and nothing else, so a business on MYOB AccountRight or MYOB Business can’t use it without changing ledgers. That rules it out for a large share of Australian trades, wholesale and manufacturing firms.

Line coding is the next complaint. ApprovalMax Capture reads the supplier, invoice number, amounts and tax off a bill. The Xero integration supports account and tracking category coding. It doesn’t remember how you coded that supplier last month and do it again. Someone still picks the account and GST treatment on each line, which is where a bookkeeper’s week goes once volume passes 100 invoices.

Then there’s the bill. ApprovalMax charges per organisation, so a group with four entities pays four times. Capture is a separate monthly charge on top, billed by document count. A business that started on one Xero file at a modest price can end up paying for a stack it never planned.

Two reasons that used to send people looking have gone. ApprovalMax added a duplicate bill warning and an alert for suspicious bank detail changes. It launched Capture in 2025. If those were the gaps on your list, check the current product before you switch.

What ApprovalMax still does better than most alternatives

Routing depth. ApprovalMax builds workflows with several steps, each with its own rules. On the Advanced plan it checks bills against budgets synced from Xero, approves low-risk bills automatically and lets reviewers edit a bill before approval. Premium adds verification of Xero batch payments and a public API. If your approval matrix has more than three dimensions, ApprovalMax handles it with fewer workarounds than anything else on this list. The audit trail is also mature, with every approval, comment and edit kept permanently.

How the ApprovalMax alternatives compare

ApprovalMaxPulsifyLightyearZaharaTipaltiXero and MYOB built-in
Invoice captureCapture add-on, billed per documentIncluded, email or uploadIncluded, line data extractedIncluded, AI invoice quota per planIncludedNo
Line coding learned from historyNoYes, account and GST per lineSupplier rules you setNot statedRules and defaultsNo
Approval routingMulti-step, roles, thresholds, budgetsMulti-step by supplier and amount rangeMulti-stepMulti-step with budgetsMulti-stepOne queue, no rules
PO matchingBill-to-PO on Advanced planTwo-way, line level, partial claimsThree-way on Standard planPO module in all plansThree-wayNo
Duplicate warningYesYesNot statedNot statedYesReference number only
Bank detail change alertYesYesNot statedNot statedNot statedNo
ABN checkNot listedInvalid or not GST registered flaggedNot statedNoNoNo
XeroYesYesYesYesYesNative
MYOBNoYesLimitedYesNoNative
QuickBooks OnlineYesNoNoYesYesNo
Price basisPer organisation plus add-onsPer document, from $25 a monthCredits, from $155 a monthPer plan, from £159 a monthFrom US$99 a month plus transaction feesIncluded

Pulsify

Pulsify is AP automation for Australian businesses on Xero and MYOB. Invoices are forwarded to a Pulsify address or uploaded. Pulsify works out whether each document is a purchase order, an invoice, a credit note or a supplier statement, splits bundled scans and codes each line with the account and GST treatment it learned from that supplier’s past invoices.

Before the bill reaches an approver it checks for duplicates, a changed BSB or account number, an ABN that is invalid or not registered for GST, totals that don’t add up and a supplier missing from Xero or MYOB. It flags rather than blocks. The person approving decides. Approval routing matches on supplier and amount range and runs in steps. Approvers can approve, reject, send back or reassign. Every action is logged. PO matching is two-way at line level, quantity and price per line. It tracks partial and progress claims. The approved bill is created in Xero or MYOB.

Plans start at $25 a month for 50 documents and $69 for 100, with a 30-day free trial and no card. Extra documents are charged per document. The count covers every connected entity rather than each one separately. Pulsify doesn’t connect to QuickBooks Online.

Verdict: the closest one-subscription replacement for ApprovalMax plus a capture tool. Also the option if you’re on MYOB.

Lightyear

Lightyear is an AP platform from Australia and New Zealand built around purchase orders. Line data extraction is included on every plan, approvals are multi-step. The Standard plan adds three-way matching of invoice, order and goods received. Coding uses supplier rules you set rather than learned history, so a new supplier or a changed invoice layout needs a person to update the rule.

Pricing is in credits. Essentials is $155 a month for 125 credits and Standard is $255 for 250, with Professional on custom pricing above 500. Lightyear notes that some accounting integrations carry an extra monthly fee. The platform is Xero first and its MYOB support is limited, which matters for the same trades and wholesale businesses that ApprovalMax already rules out.

Verdict: the pick when purchasing discipline matters more than coding and you’re on Xero.

Zahara

Zahara is a UK purchase-to-pay tool with purchase orders, budgets, AI invoice processing and multi-step approvals in every plan. Its integration list covers Xero, QuickBooks, MYOB, Sage, Business Central and NetSuite, which makes it one of the few approval tools that connects to MYOB. Plans are priced in pounds. Teams is £159 a month for 10 users, 120 orders and 250 AI invoices. Business is £289 for 18 users and 500 invoices. Extra users are £12 each.

Support is UK-based, so an Australian finance team works across a 9 to 11 hour time difference. The product has no Australian-specific checks such as ABN or GST registration status.

Verdict: worth a look for MYOB businesses that want purchase orders and budgets, if UK hours and GBP billing suit.

Tipalti

Tipalti is enterprise AP and global payments from the US. It captures invoices, runs multi-step approvals, matches three-way against purchase orders and goods receipts, pays suppliers in 196 countries and gives suppliers a portal to keep their own details current. The Accounts Payable plan starts at US$99 a month with transaction fees on top. Pricing scales with payment volume and entities.

The tax side centres on US forms rather than BAS and GST. It integrates with Xero but not MYOB. For a business paying Australian suppliers in dollars, most of what justifies the price goes unused.

Verdict: built for 500-plus invoices a month and cross-border payments, which is more than most Australian SMBs need.

Xero and MYOB built-in approvals

Both ledgers include an approval step that costs nothing. Xero holds bills in an awaiting-approval queue and any user with the permission can approve any bill. MYOB Business works the same way. Neither routes by amount, sends a bill on to a second approver or records more than the system log. Xero will warn on a duplicate reference number and nothing else. ApprovalMax exists because this queue has no rules.

Verdict: fine under about 20 bills a month with one or two people in finance and no auditor asking who approved what.

Which ApprovalMax alternative fits your business

MYOB users have a short list. Pulsify and Zahara connect to it directly. Lightyear’s MYOB support is limited. ApprovalMax, Tipalti and the Xero queue don’t apply.

Businesses paying for two tools, ApprovalMax plus Dext or Hubdoc while still coding lines by hand are the most common switchers. Pulsify replaces both with one subscription priced on documents rather than organisations. The switching guide covers what happens to approvals already in flight.

Where purchasing discipline is the problem and every invoice must match an order raised before the spend, Lightyear on Xero or Zahara on MYOB puts the purchase order first.

Overseas supplier payments at scale are the one case for Tipalti. Its payments layer is the reason to pay its price.

Under 20 bills a month with a single approver, stay on the built-in queue and revisit when volume grows.

What to check before you switch from ApprovalMax

Ask each vendor four things. Where does coding happen? Does the tool learn from the last invoice or wait for a rule? Does it connect to your ledger without middleware, because a connector adds a third bill and a third support desk? What does the price do when you add an entity, since per-organisation pricing doubles with the second Xero file? And does it flag a changed bank account before the approver sees the bill?

That last one is not academic. Payment redirection scams cost Australians AU$166.8 million in 2025, up 9.3% on the year before, according to the ACCC’s Targeting Scams report. The bill with the new BSB looks identical to the real one. An approver checking the amount will not catch it. Read more on bank account change fraud and duplicate invoice detection before you compare feature lists.

Map your current approval chain with the free invoice approval workflow generator first. Most teams find their real process has two more hand-offs than the one on paper. That gap decides which tool fits.

Pulsify has a 30-day free trial with no credit card. Start the trial with your own invoices or book a demo and we’ll walk through your approval chain with you.


Sources: ACCC Targeting Scams report · ApprovalMax pricing for Xero · ApprovalMax Capture · Lightyear pricing · Zahara pricing · Tipalti pricing


Also comparing: ApprovalMax vs Pulsify · ApprovalMax vs Spendesk · Lightyear vs Pulsify


Further reading: Switching from ApprovalMax to Pulsify · ApprovalMax + Dext vs Pulsify · Best invoice approval workflow software for Xero

See Pulsify in action

Frequently asked questions

What is the best ApprovalMax alternative for MYOB users?
Pulsify and Zahara are the two ApprovalMax alternatives in this guide with a direct MYOB connection. Pulsify is built for Australian businesses on Xero and MYOB and prices by document volume. Zahara is a UK product priced in pounds with MYOB on its integration list. ApprovalMax itself does not connect to MYOB.
Does ApprovalMax capture invoices or do I still need Dext?
ApprovalMax now sells its own OCR add-on, ApprovalMax Capture, which reads the supplier, invoice number, amounts and tax from emailed or uploaded bills. It is billed separately from the approval plan by monthly document volume. Many businesses keep Dext or Hubdoc for capture instead, which means two subscriptions before approvals start.
How much does ApprovalMax cost in Australia in 2026?
ApprovalMax prices per organisation rather than per user, across Standard, Advanced and Premium plans, with AUD billing and volume discounts for multiple organisations. Bill-to-PO matching, budgets and auto-approval start on Advanced. Capture and Pay are add-ons billed monthly by volume. Check the ApprovalMax Xero pricing page for the current AUD figure.
Can I set different approval limits for different approvers?
Yes, in ApprovalMax, Pulsify, Lightyear and Zahara. ApprovalMax routes on amount thresholds, roles and budgets, with auto-approval on its Advanced plan. Pulsify routes on supplier and amount range in multi-step chains, with approve, reject, send back and reassign all logged. Xero's built-in approval queue has no limits per approver at all.
Is ApprovalMax enough on its own for accounts payable?
If your invoices are simple and your bookkeeper codes them by hand without complaint, ApprovalMax with its Capture add-on covers intake, routing and an audit trail on Xero. It is not enough when lines need coding from supplier history, when you run MYOB or when per-organisation pricing multiplies across several entities.

Ready to automate your AP?

Go beyond capture and basic workflows. Pulsify codes, validates, routes, and syncs every invoice automatically.