Best Accounts Payable Software in the UK for 2026

Accounts payable software UK businesses can buy in 2026, compared on line-level VAT, bank-detail checks and GBP prices, with who each tool suits.

Dhruv Gupta · 28 September 2026 · 14 min read · Updated 28 September 2026

TL;DR

There's no single best accounts payable software in the UK. Capture tools like Dext and AutoEntry read bills, approval tools like ApprovalMax route them and full pipelines like Pulsify, Lightyear and Zahara do both plus checks. Sort by the job you need done, then by price. Test every shortlisted tool on a mixed-rate VAT bill, a reverse charge bill and a changed bank account before you sign.

The best accounts payable software in the UK depends on which job you’re buying it for. Some tools read bills. Some route them for approval. A few take a bill from the inbox to an approved entry in your purchase ledger and check it on the way. So sort the market by job first, then by price. This guide is for UK businesses whose purchase ledger has outgrown typing bills in by hand, usually somewhere past 100 bills a month with more than one person signing off.

We compared eight options on five things: whether VAT is handled line by line (the domestic reverse charge included), whether a changed bank account on a bill gets flagged, how approvals are routed, whether the tool writes straight back to your ledger and whether the price is published in pounds. Every price below is the vendor’s own GBP figure as of September 2026, excluding VAT.

One thing up front. We make Pulsify, which is on this list. It’s built in Australia and priced in Australian dollars, so its GBP price here is our estimate. The other seven are described from their own sites. For the Australian version of this comparison, see our guide to the best accounts payable automation software in Australia.

What accounts payable software does for a UK business

Accounts payable software is software that takes a supplier bill from arrival to an approved, coded entry in your purchase ledger, ready to pay. Bookkeepers in the UK often call that ledger “creditors”. At a minimum it reads the bill. The better tools also code each line to an account and VAT rate, check the bill against what you know about the supplier and send it to the right person to approve.

The UK rules set a floor any tool has to meet. HMRC requires a full VAT invoice for supplies above £250 including VAT, showing each item with its quantity, unit price and VAT rate. At £250 or less a simplified invoice is allowed. That matters for software because one bill can carry lines at 20%, 5% and 0%. A tool that reads only the total will post the wrong VAT.

The domestic reverse charge adds a second layer. It’s a rule where the customer, not the supplier, accounts for the VAT. It has applied to building and construction services since 1 March 2021 when the supply is standard or reduced rated, falls within the Construction Industry Scheme (CIS), is between two VAT-registered businesses, is reported under CIS and the customer isn’t the end user. HMRC tells businesses to check their accounting software can handle reverse charge invoices. If you’re a contractor, our comparison of accounts payable software for UK construction companies covers CIS and reverse charge coding in detail.

Then there’s Making Tax Digital for VAT. Since April 2022 every VAT-registered business has had to keep digital records and file through compatible software. An AP tool that writes the bill straight to your ledger keeps that digital link intact. A CSV export you tidy by hand breaks it.

Why UK fraud protection at the bank does not cover the invoice

UK banks now check payments at the moment money moves, but nothing at the bank looks at the invoice itself. That check has to happen in your accounts payable process.

The bank side has improved. UK Finance’s Annual Fraud Report 2026 shows that malicious redirection scams, where money meant for a genuine payee goes to a criminal, fell to just under a quarter of all authorised push payment losses in 2025. In 2020 they were over half. Invoice and mandate scams still took £41.3 million across 2,305 cases in 2025. £28 million of that came out of business accounts. Only 48% of it was returned.

Invoice fraud is also common. The Home Office Economic Crime Survey 2024 found fake invoice fraud was the most frequent type of fraud against UK businesses with employees, hitting 11% of them in a year.

Confirmation of Payee is the bank’s name check. When you set up a new payee, your bank tells you whether the name you typed matches the account. It’s useful. But it checks a name at payment set-up. The reimbursement rules for authorised push payment fraud only kick in after the money has gone. Neither one looks at the bill. If a supplier’s invoice arrives with a new sort code and account number, the only place that change shows up is your purchase ledger.

Bank-account-change fraud is the name for that pattern: a bill arrives with different payment details and nobody questions it before the payment run. Pulsify compares the bank details on each bill against what that supplier has used before and flags any change for a person to check. It doesn’t block the bill or hold the payment. More on that in validation and exception review.

The best accounts payable software in the UK, by job

Here are the eight options, from full pipelines to capture tools to the ledger on its own. Prices are as of September 2026 and exclude VAT.

Pulsify

Pulsify is accounts payable automation that covers the whole run: it reads the bill, codes each line to an account and VAT rate, runs its checks and routes the bill for approval before writing it to your ledger. Coding is learned from each supplier’s history and extraction is 99% accurate. Checks include duplicate invoice detection, bank details that don’t match the supplier’s history, totals that don’t add up and bills addressed to someone else. Two-way match is the process of comparing a bill against its purchase order line by line. Pulsify does it on quantity, unit price and total.

What it doesn’t do: three-way matching against goods received notes, supplier payments, retention tracking or spend analytics. It flags problems and leaves the decision to a person.

Price: from about £35 a month (estimate). Pulsify prices in Australian dollars, so this is our conversion. There’s a 30-day free trial.

Verdict: a good fit for a growing business that wants coding, fraud checks and approvals in one tool without adding goods-received steps.

ApprovalMax

ApprovalMax is an approvals tool for Xero, QuickBooks Online and NetSuite. It’s priced per organisation with unlimited users. Multi-step approval chains are its core, with an audit trail on every decision. The Advanced plan adds bill-to-PO matching, budget checks and goods received notes.

What it doesn’t do on its own: read or code bills. Capture is a paid add-on, so many teams pair it with a capture tool.

Price: Standard £35.83 a month billed yearly (£43 monthly), Advanced £59.17 (£71 monthly), Premium £80 (£96 monthly).

Verdict: the one to beat if approvals are the main problem and your bills already arrive coded.

Lightyear

Lightyear, now part of The Access Group, extracts line data from bills and routes them for approval. Every plan has unlimited users. It connects to Xero, QuickBooks, Sage, MYOB and NetSuite, among others. The Standard plan adds goods received notes and three-way PO matching.

What it doesn’t publish: whether it handles the domestic reverse charge at line level, so test that in the trial.

Price: Essentials £130 a month (125 credits), Standard £179 (250 credits), Professional on quote. A bill uses one credit.

Verdict: a strong full pipeline for teams with many approvers who need unlimited seats and several ledger options.

Zahara

Zahara is UK-built purchase and AP software. It covers requisitions, purchase orders, goods received notes from a mobile app and three-way matching, then AI invoice reading and approvals. It connects to Xero, Sage 50, Sage 200, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Online, Business Central, NetSuite and MYOB.

What to weigh: every plan has a user cap and a monthly limit on POs and invoices, so check your volumes against the tiers.

Price: Teams £159 a month (10 users, 250 invoices), Business £289 (18 users, 500 invoices), Enterprise £499 (35 users, 1,200 invoices).

Verdict: the pick if your site or warehouse teams raise POs and you want goods-received control before bills are approved.

Dext

Dext is the capture tool most UK practices already know. It pulls data off bills and receipts and publishes it to Xero, QuickBooks and Sage. That’s its job and it does it well.

What it isn’t built for: routing approvals by supplier or amount or matching bills to POs.

Price: not published in GBP. A July 2026 third-party breakdown reports practice plans from about £90 a month for five clients on an annual contract, so ask Dext for a quote.

Verdict: a sensible first step for a practice getting paper off desks, not a full AP process on its own.

AutoEntry

AutoEntry is a capture tool owned by Sage since 2019. It reads bills, receipts and bank statements and sends them to Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and several smaller ledgers. Every plan has unlimited users and unused credits roll over for 90 days.

What it isn’t built for: multi-step approvals or PO matching.

Price: Bronze £15.45 a month (50 credits) up to Sapphire £518.25 (2,500 credits). A bill with line items uses two credits.

Verdict: the cheapest way in if you need capture and you run Sage or FreeAgent.

Tipalti

Tipalti is AP and payments software aimed at larger finance teams. It includes a supplier portal, multi-entity support and cross-border payments in many currencies.

What to weigh: the platform fee is only the start. Tipalti charges per invoice and per payment on top and doesn’t publish those rates.

Price: AP plans from £99 a month, mass payments from £199, plus transaction fees.

Verdict: built for businesses paying many suppliers overseas. It’s more than most SMBs need.

Xero on its own

Xero had 1,153,000 UK subscribers at 31 March 2025, according to its FY25 annual report. You can enter bills, have one person approve them and pay them. Grow and above include automated bill entry.

What it leaves manual: line coding decisions, duplicate checks, bank-detail checks, PO matching and approval routing by supplier or amount. Approval is one step.

Price: Ignite £18 a month (10 bills), Grow £39, Comprehensive £55, Ultimate £70.

Verdict: enough under about 50 bills a month with one person approving.

Side by side

AP automation software in the UK, compared on the checks that matter most for UK bills. VAT per line includes the domestic reverse charge. “Not stated” means we couldn’t confirm it from the vendor’s own site on 28 September 2026.

ToolVAT per lineBank change flagApprovals
PulsifyYesYesMulti-step
ApprovalMaxNot statedNot statedMulti-step
LightyearNot statedNot statedMulti-step
ZaharaNot statedNot statedMulti-step
DextNot statedNot statedNo
AutoEntryNot statedNot statedNo
TipaltiNot statedNot statedMulti-step
Xero aloneManualNoOne step

Purchase order matching and starting prices, as of September 2026 and excluding VAT:

ToolPO matchingFrom
PulsifyTwo-wayAbout £35 a month (estimate)
ApprovalMaxPO and GRN (Advanced plan)£35.83 a month billed yearly
LightyearGRN (Standard plan)£130 a month
ZaharaGRN£159 a month
DextNoQuote only
AutoEntryNo£15.45 a month
TipaltiAdd-on module£99 a month plus fees
Xero aloneManual£18 a month

Where each tool fits

The best AP automation software in the UK for you depends on volume and on how many people touch a bill.

A sole trader or small business with under 50 bills a month and one person approving can stay on Xero or add AutoEntry or Dext to stop typing. Adding an approval tool at that size is mostly cost.

A practice processing bills for clients usually wants capture it can run across many ledgers. Dext and AutoEntry are built for that. AutoEntry’s unlimited clients and users suit practices with lots of small clients.

A growing business with several approvers, purchase orders and a few hundred bills a month is where the full pipelines earn their price. Pulsify, Lightyear and Zahara all read, check and route. The difference is what else you need. Zahara and Lightyear Standard add goods received notes. Pulsify’s focus is the checks on the bill itself, such as changed bank details and duplicates, with PO matching kept two-way.

If you run Sage or QuickBooks, check the ledger list first. Zahara, Lightyear and AutoEntry all connect to Sage. ApprovalMax connects to QuickBooks Online.

If most of your suppliers are overseas and payments are the hard part, Tipalti is the one designed around that.

Is accounts payable software worth it for a small UK business?

Usually yes once you’re past about 100 bills a month. You can check it yourself in ten minutes. Count last month’s bills. Then time yourself entering ten of them, coding each line and getting sign-off. Multiply.

At 200 bills and five minutes each, that’s about 17 hours a month. At three minutes a bill it’s still ten. Compare that with a tool costing £35 to £180 a month and the sums tend to work. They work harder if a single changed bank account would cost you more than a year of subscription, which it would for most businesses.

Under 50 bills with one approver, the sums are closer. Xero’s automated bill entry or a cheap capture plan may be all you need for now.

What to look for before you sign

Most accounts payable software in the UK comes with a free trial. Use it on your own bills, not the demo data. These six checks sort them.

  1. Put through a bill with lines at 20%, 5% and 0%, then a reverse charge bill. See whether each line lands with the right VAT treatment or whether you’re fixing it by hand.
  2. Check how the approved bill gets into your ledger. It should arrive through a direct connection, not a CSV you import.
  3. Change the bank details on a known supplier’s bill and send it through. See whether anything flags it.
  4. Set an approval rule above an amount you choose and confirm bills over it go to the right person, with each decision kept in an audit trail.
  5. Ask how the tool keeps your Making Tax Digital records digital from bill to VAT return.
  6. Find the price in pounds for your volume. If it’s quote only, get the quote before the trial ends.

You can see how Pulsify handles routing on the approval workflows page. You can also run a batch of bills through the duplicate invoice checker before you start. For how it all fits together, see AP automation with Pulsify.

Frequently Asked Questions

If you’d like to see Pulsify code, check and route your own bills, start a free 30-day trial or book a demo.


Sources: GOV.UK, Record keeping for VAT (Notice 700/21) · GOV.UK, VAT domestic reverse charge for construction · GOV.UK, Overview of Making Tax Digital · Home Office, Economic Crime Survey 2024 · UK Finance, Annual Fraud Report 2026 · Xero FY25 Annual Report


Also comparing: ApprovalMax vs Pulsify · Lightyear vs Pulsify · Dext vs Pulsify


Further reading: Best accounts payable software for UK construction companies · Best AP automation software for Xero · AutoEntry alternatives

See Pulsify in action

Frequently asked questions

What is the best accounts payable software in the UK?
It depends which job you need done. For capture alone, Dext or AutoEntry. For approvals on top of your ledger, ApprovalMax. For the whole run from inbox to approved bill with fraud checks, look at Pulsify, Lightyear or Zahara. Zahara and Lightyear's Standard plan also match goods received notes.
Does Xero have accounts payable approvals in the UK?
Yes, one step. A bill can sit as awaiting approval until someone with the right permission approves it. Xero doesn't route bills to different approvers by supplier or amount and has no multi-step chain. It also leaves line coding, duplicate checks and bank-detail checks to the person entering the bill.
Does Confirmation of Payee stop invoice fraud?
No. Confirmation of Payee checks that the name you type matches the name on the account when you set up a payee. If a fraudster opens an account in a plausible name or the invoice itself carries new bank details, the bank's check never sees that. The change has to be caught on the invoice.
What must a UK VAT invoice show?
Above £250 including VAT you need a full VAT invoice. It shows a unique sequential number, the supply date, the supplier's name, address and VAT number, your details and each item with its quantity, unit price and VAT rate, plus the VAT total in sterling. At £250 or less a simplified invoice is allowed.
How much does accounts payable software cost in the UK?
As of September 2026, capture tools start around £15 a month (AutoEntry Bronze). Approval tools start at £35.83 a month billed yearly (ApprovalMax Standard). Full pipelines run from about £35 a month (Pulsify, estimate) to £130 (Lightyear) and £159 (Zahara). Tipalti starts at £99 plus transaction fees. All exclude VAT.

Ready to automate your AP?

Go beyond capture and basic workflows. Pulsify codes, validates, routes, and syncs every invoice automatically.